Decisions

Diana called me as she was getting off work.

“Hello?”
“Have you planned anything for supper?”
“No. I was just going to whip something up when you got home.”
“Pizza Hut is having deal – $5.55 for a large. I can pick it up on my way home.”
“Okay, that sounds good.”
“What do you want on it?”
“I don’t care, whatever you want.”
“You always let me pick.”
“Because I really don’t care. Anything is fine.”
“David, I know you don’t care, and you’re great about giving me whatever I want, but once in awhile it would be nice if you would decide about some things. It takes the pressure off of me. What kind of pizza would you like?”
“Okay, I want pepperoni.”
“You don’t want mushrooms?”
“Mushrooms are fine.”
“Mushrooms go better with sausage.”
“Okay, I want sausage and mushrooms.”
“Oh, hang on. The deal is for only one topping.”
“Then, I want pepperoni.”
“But we could just pay for the extra topping.”

I paused, trying to figure out the quickest way to end this exercise in futility without hurting Diana’s feelings.

“So, what do I want on my pizza?”
“You said sausage and mushrooms.”
“Okay, I want sausage and mushrooms.”
“Okay, I’ll order it before I leave. See? Isn’t it nice to make the decision and get what you want once in awhile?”
“Yes, I feel very manly and in control. Thank you.”
“You’re welcome. I’ll see you when I get home.”

Leave a Reply

